Preventing Suicide Among Service Members, Veterans, & Their Families

Delaware Governor's Challenge Team

Delaware Governor’s Challenge co-chairs Lt. Governor Bethany Hall-Long and Major General Frank Vavala (ret.) join committee members at a team meeting in New Castle.

About the Delaware Governor’s Challenge

Suicide is a public health challenge that impacts individuals, families, and communities across the country. Delaware is no exception.

Responding to the need for a state-wide suicide prevention effort, Delaware has partnered with the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) and the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) to bring the Governor’s Challenge to Prevent Suicide among Service Members, Veterans, to communities throughout Delaware.

Delaware Governor’s Challenge co-chairs Lt. Governor Bethany Hall-Long and Major General Frank Vavala (Ret.) are leading this statewide effort to expand mental health resources for the veteran community and reduce veteran suicide.

Our mission is to facilitate support, connectedness, and safety planning to reduce veteran suicide risk.

Priority Areas

Governor's Challenge Priority Areas

SMVF Suicide Prevention Model

SMVF Suicide Prevention Model

This suicide prevention model takes a public health approach to someone’s care, taking into account the full scope of a person’s needs and how to implement best practices.

Meet Delaware’s Team

  • Lt. Governor Bethany Hall-Long
  • Major General Frank Vavala (Ret.)
  • Major General Michael Berry
  • Susana Cebula
  • Andrew Thurn
  • Dr. Gerald Gallucci
  • Commander Nolan Lewis
  • John Quick
  • Sec. Karryl Hubbard
  • Sec. Eugene Young
  • Christine Kubik
  • Sen. Spiros Mantzavinos
  • Rep. Nmandi Chukwuocha
  • Col. David Strawbridge (Ret)
  • Valerie Harwood
  • Alicia Emmanuel
  • Freddy Allen
  • Rev. Tom Davis
  • Eric Lauppe
  • Jennifer Smolowitz
  • Traci Manza Murphy
  • Dr. Debbie Harrington
  • Peter Albert
  • Miranda Mal
  • Sgt. Dan DeFlavis
  • Brian Disabatino
  • Jessica Lewis
  • Jaime Kazmarck
  • Anna Lopez
  • John Richter
  • Joe Bryant
  • Dr. Christopher Segura
  • Sue Mulhem
  • Joshua Matticks
  • Dr. Jan Lee
  • Michelle Vorphal
  • Benjamin Flynn
  • Shannon Ayres
  • April Filiaggi
  • Cara Lammey

Want to get involved? Sign-up using this form.


Next Meeting: January 31, 2024

Resource Links